Magh Gupt Navratri Calendar 2017 – Day, Dates and Goddess Information

Magh Gupt Navratri

India is one of the most culturally diverse country and is known across the world for its rich culture and bright festivals. The large number of different cultures are knitted together in a beautiful manner. One of the biggest Hindu festivals in the country are the Navratris. Navratri is the joyous way of worshiping the Almighty Goddess Durga in her nine forms, over a period of nine nights and ten days.

Goddess Durga

Navratri is celebrated five times a year, which are as follows:

  • Vasanta Navratri (Chaitra/ March-April)
  • Ashadha Navratri (Ashadha/ June-July)
  • Sharad Navratri (Ashvin/ September-October)
  • Paush Navratri (Paush/ December-January)
  • Magh Gupt Navratri (Magh/ January-February)

Vasanta Navratri and Sharad Navratri are mainly celebrated all over India, the other are only observed by Shaktas.

Magh Gupt Navratri is also known as Gupt Navratri. The waxing phase of moon in the months of January-February marks the beginning of Magh Navratri. Goddess Durga has nine structures, and all are loved amid Navratri by devoting every day to one "symbol" or incarnation. Every goddess is illustrative of a specific ideal and is accepted to present satisfaction. The devotees offer their prayers to the Goddess following a set of rituals. These rituals are known as the Vidhi (Procedure) for the Navratri Puja. Navratri puja and fasting helps to keep both mind and body in a perfect state of health.

Magh Gupt Navratri 2017 Dates, Days and Goddess Information

Day 1(Padwa) – January 28th, 2017 (Saturday) – Ghatsthapana, Shailputri Puja, Pratipada

Day 2 (Dwitiya) – January 29th, 2017 (Sunday) – Brahmacharini Puja

Day 3 (Tritiya) – January 30th, 2017 (Monday) – Chandraghanta Puja

Day 4 (Chaturthi) – January 31st, 2017 (Tuesday) – Kushmanda puja

Day 5 (Panchami) – February 1st, 2017 (Wednesday) – Skandamata Puja

Day 6 (Shashthi) – February 2nd, 2017 (Thursday) – Katyayani Puja

Day 7 (Saptami) – February 3rd, 2017 (Friday) – Kalaratri Puja

Day 8 (Ashtmi) – February 4th, 2017 (Saturday) – Mahagauri Puja, Durga Ashtami Puja, Sandhi Puja

Day 9 (Navami) – February 5th, 2017 (Sunday) – Siddhidatri Pooja

Day 10 (Dashami) – February 6th, 2017 (Monday) – Navratri Parana

Shubh Navratri!